Chesapeake Science Point Charter School (CSP)

Chesapeake Science Point Charter School

20th 1st Place Finish In-A-Row!


20th 1st Place Finish In-A-Row!

Chesapeake Science Point (CSP) High School Math Team highlights the new 2015-16 season; CSP teams compete in simultaneous middle & high schoollevel math competitions!

November 2, 2015

Held concurrently at two different locations this Saturday, October 31, 2015, the Chesapeake Science Point (CSP) Public Charter School math teams started their season with competitions for both the middle school and high school levels.

At the Anne Arundel Community College (AACC) High School Math Competition, CSP extended its streak of 1st place finishes to an astonishing 20 straight competitions extending over four school years. CSP also boasted at this event only individual to earned a perfect score, Ryan Budahazy, a CSP Junior.

And at the same time in the very competitive statewide MD Mathalon, CSP 8th grader Oumarr Bah was announced Maryland State’s as the 6th highest scoring individual!

(See below for more details of the HIGH SCHOOL competition):

At the AACC High School contest students compete in two rounds: an individual round where students have 30 minutes to complete six challenging problems and a team round where a team of five students have 30 minutes to complete six problems.

In the individual round, CSP’s high scoring individuals were Ryan Budahazy who answered all six correctly, earning himself an apple from the AACC organizers as a reward, Benjamin Kelm with 5 correct and Anthony Krieger with 4 correct.

During the team round, CSP’s Ryan, Benjamin and Anthony were joined by David Kravets and Kenneth Boyette who together answered 4 of 6 correct. This earned them a tie for first place, extending CSP’s streak of 1st place finishes across an astounding 20 straight competitions. These wins include: all five competitions in the 2014-2015, 2013-2014 and 2012-2013 school years.

Several key points to mention as to why this winning streak is remarkable:

  • First, this is the first time there was a tie for 1st
  • Chesapeake Science Point Public Charter School is the smallest high school competing in this competition.
  • Over the course of this streak, over fifty different students have represented CSP at this competition.
  • That means, the CSP sophomore and juniors that were the highest scoring students today were actually in the sixth and seventh grade when this winning streak started.

Representing CSP at this AACC competition were:

9th grade: Mark Kelm, Connor Parker, Cory Powers, Nathan Taylor, Bosith Weerasinghe and Stanley Zhu

10th grade: Kenneth Boyette and Kaitlin White

11th grade: Matthew Boyer, Ryan Budahazy, Benjamin Kelm, David Kravets, and Anthony Krieger

12th grade: Chynna Jones and Kyle Yamaguchi


The CSP middle school math team was at Meade Middle School for the 30th Annual Maryland Mathalon, a statewide competition held by the Maryland Council of Teachers of Mathematics, jointly sponsored by Maryland State Department of Education, Maryland Council of Teachers of Mathematics, National Security Agency and Anne Arundel County Public Schools. This year marks the 30th year of the MD Mathalon, with teams from the top public, private and magnet-program middle schools competing in a competition that promotes mathematics excellence through individual and team competitions.

This competition is held in three parts, an individual and team mathematics competition and a team engineering challenge invention round. The invention round is a unique part of this contest. Teams are comprised of students from different schools who are given 30 minutes to devise their best solution to a science and engineering based problem. CSP students did very well in both parts of the competition. In the individual math portion, CSP 8th grader Oumarr Bah was announced as the 6th highest scoring individual statewide. Oumarr also did very well in the invention round, earning a 2nd place ribbon for that portion of the competition. His CSP teammates also excelled in the invention round with Akash Prasad and Om Mehta each earning a 1st place ribbon in the invention round and Cole Parker, Zeshan Ahmad, Aaron Chu and Aaban Syed each earning a 4th place ribbon.

CSP was represented at the MD Mathalon by:

6th grade: Darsana Alagarsamy, Aaban Syed and Joseph Zimmerman

7th grade: Zeshan Ahmad, Michael Carr, Aaron Chu, Isa Liggans, Adharsh Maheswaran, Om Mehta, Cole Parker, Akash Prasad, Anagha Sandeep, Imaad Syed, Nethmi Weerasinghe and Emily Zhu

8th grade: Oumarr Bah

It may have been Halloween, but there’s no hocus pocus going on at CSP.

Chesapeake Science Point students earn these outstanding results due to their hard work and dedication as well as that of their teachers, coaches and parents.

Did you know CSP’s Math Team practices competitive math every morning, starting an hour and half before school starts every day, with their math team coaches? Dedicated teachers Mrs. Lyniper Al-Os , Mr. David Hamrum, Mr. Vincent Njong, Ms. Catherine Smith, Mrs. Imelda Valencia, and Parent Volunteer Mr. Bernie Kelm are to be commended. This extended team of coaches has a great experience base that enables CSP to provide the math team members with fun ways of learning critical thinking and math techniques that helps them not only excel in competitive math but to learn lessons that extends to all aspects of their studies and life beyond. The team also has the full and constant support from its proud principal, Mr. Ilker Gurbuz.

Chesapeake Science Point Public Charter School is a proud member of the Anne Arundel County Public Schools and is located at 7321 Parkway Drive South, Hanover, Maryland. CSP is a nationally recognized public charter school with a strong focus on science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) and emphasizes preparation of its students for continued higher education. The school consistently scores well in several categories at the state level and has competed and placed highly in mathematics competitions nationally and internationally. For more information, visit the CSP website at:


CSP © 2017